You can segment and run various customer churn calculations for different time periods, customer groups, specific products, and more. Over time, these reports will form the foundation of long-term churn modeling to make broader forecasts about customer behaviors.
Your revenue churn calculation is similar:
Revenue Churn Rate = (revenue canceling or lapsing during [time period] / total revenue up for renewal during [time period]) X 100
For example: if you wanted to calculate your revenue churn rate for the month of January, here’s how it might look:
$5,000 (total revenue lapsing in January) / $75,000 (total available revenue for renewal) X 100
Revenue Churn Rate = 6.6%
These assessments are typically done on a monthly or yearly basis, but each company should choose a reporting window that aligns with their subscription models. (A yearly report won’t do much good for a company that predominantly sells month-to-month subscriptions.)