So bekämpfen Sie die Abwanderung von Kunden

Von:

Dies ist eine grundlegende Einführung in die Beziehung zwischen Kundenabwanderung und Wachstum in abo-basierten Unternehmen – eine Beziehung, die nicht so einfach ist, wie Sie vielleicht denken.

Beginnen wir mit der Definition von Kundenabwanderung. Ganz einfach gesagt beschreibt Kundenabwanderung den Anteil Ihrer Abonnenten, die innerhalb eines bestimmten Zeitraums das Abo kündigen.

Kundenabwanderung kann durch vieles verursacht werden: schwacher Kundenservice, ein schlechtes Produkt-Upgrade, ein besseres Angebot von der Konkurrenz etc.

Unabhängig davon sind abo-basierte Unternehmen Firmen, die auf regelmäßigen Umsätzen aufbauen. Damit regelmäßig Umsatz generiert wird, müssen Ihre Kunden in einem Verhältnis verlängern, das die Abwanderung übertrifft.

Abwandernde Kunden zeigen Ihnen schlicht und ergreifend, wie viel Potenzial in Ihrem Unternehmen steckt. Und wenn Ihre Kunden zu schnell abwandern, haben Sie eigentlich gar kein Potenzial mehr.

Daher ist es bei jeder Geschäftsstrategie auf Abo-Grundlage essenziell, die Kundenabwanderung durch Investition in hochwertige Produkte, praktische Funktionen und Kundenerfolg zu reduzieren.

DAS RÄTSEL DER ABWANDERUNGS-/WACHSTUMSRATE

Wir gehen hier von einem Abo-Unternehmen aus, das neue Kunden mit einer konstanten Akquisegeschwindigkeit gewinnt und auch eine feste Abwanderungsrate hat. In unserem Beispiel kommen pro Jahr 100 Neukunden hinzu, während jährlich 10 % verloren gehen. Am Anfang ist die absolute Kundenabwanderung kein großes Problem. Der Kundenstamm wächst langsam aber sicher.

But as the customer base grows, the absolute value of churn increases and soon overwhelms new customer acquisition. Joel York, Founder, Markodojo

In unserem Beispiel liegen sowohl die Abwanderungsrate als auch die Akquisegeschwindigkeit bei 100, wenn die Kundenzahl 1000 erreicht hat.

Wenn die Neukundenakquise gleichauf mit der Kundenabwanderung ist, kommen genau so viele Kunden zur Tür herein wie im gleichen Moment wieder gehen! So kann Ihr Kundenstamm nicht wachsen. Nicht gut.

Kennen Sie sich mit Abos und ihrem Einfluss auf den Finanzbereich aus?

Erkennen Sie die kritischen Unterschiede im Abo-Modell und bauen Sie operative Erfolgsstrategien aus.

Get the kit!

SO UMGEHEN SIE DAS ABWANDERUNGSLIMIT

Wenn Sie Ihre Abwanderungsgrenze durchbrechen wollen, müssen Sie die Neukundenakquise beschleunigen. Leider sitzen Sie dann hinsichtlich Profitabilität genau zwischen Baum und Borke.

Einerseits steigen Ihre Kundenakquisekosten jedes Jahr, während Ihnen andererseits die Kundenabwanderung die Kostendeckung bei jedem Neukunden auffrisst.

Und wenn entweder Ihre Abwanderungsrate in Prozent oder Ihre Wachstumsrate zu hoch sind, wird Ihr Unternehmen nie profitabel werden.

Woran merken Sie, dass Ihre Abwanderungsrate oder Wachstumsrate zu hoch ist?

Das hängt alles von Akquisekosten pro Kunde und den regelmäßig generierten Umsätzen ab.

In einem Abo-Unternehmen erreichen Sie Profitabilität, wenn der Beitrag der aktuellen Kunden die Akquisekosten für Neukunden deckt. Im einfachsten Szenario entspricht die Kunden-Kostendeckung der Zeit, die das Unternehmens bis zum Profit benötigt.

Wenn Sie aber Kunden umsatzseitig an die Abwanderung verlieren und Neukunden kostenseitig schneller gewinnen, braucht es für die Kostenabdeckung pro Neukunde jeweils mehr Bestandskunden.

Kommen Sie noch mit? Die Kurzfassung: Je schneller Sie wachsen, desto länger brauchen Sie, um genug Bestandskunden zur Kostendeckung für die Neukunden zu sammeln. Wenn Sie zu schnell wachsen, hängen Sie immer hinterher und werden nie profitabel … wenn Sie nicht aufhören, zu wachsen!

WENN WACHSTUM ZUM ÜBELTÄTER WIRD

Erfolgreiche Abo-Unternehmen müssen die Neukundenakquise Jahr für Jahr auf eine beständige Wachstumsrate als Prozentsatz festlegen. Die Neukundenakquisekosten werden aus den wiederkehrenden Beiträgen der Bestandskunden gedeckt.

Wenn ein Abo-Unternehmen schnell wächst, können steigende Akquisekosten den Aufbau regelmäßiger Umsätze überholen und so die Profitabilität unmöglich machen.

Dadurch steigt der Druck zur Senkung der Gesamtkosten für den Service, indem entweder die durchschnittlichen Kundenakquisekosten oder die wiederkehrenden Servicekosten (oder beide) gesenkt werden.

Because growth is the culprit, the surest and most effective defense is to fight fire with fire. Joel York, Founder, Markodojo

Nutzen Sie die Automation und den damit einhergehenden Degressionsgewinn, um die Gesamtkosten für den Service zu reduzieren.

Ähnlich wie das Wachstum erzeugt auch die Kundenabwanderung Druck zur Senkung der Gesamtkosten für den Service. Schließlich müssen die regelmäßigen Beiträge Ihrer Bestandskunden die Kosten für Akquise neuer Kunden decken. Während das Wachstum die Gesamtakquisekosten nach oben treibt, erodiert Kundenabwanderung den zur Kostendeckung verfügbaren Umsatzstamm, sodass die Zeit bis zum Profit noch verlängert wird.

Das vernichtende Urteil dieser objektiven Kennzahlrechnung scheint ziemlich offensichtlich. Wenn Ihr Abo-Unternehmen irgendwann die Profitabilität erreichen soll, senken Sie endlich Ihre Gesamtkosten für den Service!

UPSELLING & UPGRADES

Nur törichte Abo-Unternehmen glauben, dass sie in die Profitabilität wachsen können. Das Wunder der wiederkehrenden Umsätze kann so nie erreicht werden, weil die Profitabilität nur möglich ist, wenn das Wachstum verlangsamt oder ganz ausgesetzt wird.

Die Kombination aus Wachstum und Profitabilität verlangt extreme Disziplin bei der Senkung der Gesamtkosten für den Service durch Anwendung des Degressionsgewinns.

Was bedeutet es genau, den durchschnittlichen regelmäßigen Umsatz zu steigern, ohne dabei die durchschnittlichen Kundenakquisekosten oder die durchschnittlichen regelmäßigen Servicekosten zu erhöhen?

Erstens bedeuten keine steigenden Kundenakquisekosten die Steigerung des regelmäßigen Umsatzes durch Bestandskunden.

Zweitens bedeutet die Nicht-Steigerung der durchschnittlichen regelmäßigen Servicekosten, dass wir das im normalen Geschäftsalltag mit wenig Zusatzaufwand tun müssen – vorzugsweise durch die Selbstbedienung des Kunden (Selbstverkauf!).

Mit anderen Worten können Abo-Unternehmen die Zeit bis zum Profit durch Upselling und Upgrading von Bestandskunden verkürzen, aber nur, wenn sie sich an einen außergwöhnlich günstigen Kaufprozess halten, der sich vom Akquiseprozess für Neukunden unterscheidet.

STRATEGIEN ZUR NEUKUNDENGEWINNUNG

Die schlechte Nachricht ist, dass Sie für Unternehmenswachstum ohne Grenzen sich nicht nur zurücklehnen und jedes Jahr hundert neue Kunden eintragen können und so hoffen, dass immer mehr wiederkehrender Umsatz zusammenkommt. Früher oder später holt Sie die Kundenabwanderung ein. Sie müssen nicht nur Neukunden akquirieren, Sie müssen das so schnell tun, dass die wachsende Abwanderungsrate abgehängt wird.

Und die gute Nachricht? Nun, je geringer Ihre Kundenabwanderungsrate in Prozent, desto länger haben Sie Zeit zum Nachdenken.

Die traurige Wirklichkeit ist aber, dass die Kundenabwanderungsrate der Neukunden-Akquiserate gnadenlos auf den Fersen ist. Deshalb wird das Gesamtwachstum langsamer und irgendwann ganz aufhören, wenn die Neukundenakquise der Kundenabwanderung nicht mehr Paroli bieten kann.

Da sich die Kundenabwanderung im direkten Verhältnis zu Ihrer Kundenanzahl erhöht, ist es am sichersten, das Wachstum einfach noch mehr zu beschleunigen, da es auch im Verhältnis zur Kundenanzahl steigt. Das ist die eigentliche Definition des oft missbrauchten Adjektivs „viral“.

Darüber hinaus erwarten Investoren generell von Unternehmen, dass sie den Umsatz Jahr für Jahr um einen gewissen Prozentsatz steigern. Bei konstanten Produkten und Preisen erfordert das wiederum ein virales Wachstum Ihres Kundenstamms. Virales Wachstum kommt aus vielen Quellen, aber wir können es in folgenden drei Etappen klassifizieren.

3 PHASEN DES KUNDENWACHSTUMS

 Etappe eins – Vertrieb und Marketing mit roher Gewalt

In jeder Branche geben die meisten Unternehmen unabhängig von ihrer Größe einen eher festen Prozentsatz des Umsatzes für Vertrieb und Marketing aus. Wenn die Effektivität dieser Maßnahmen im Verhältnis zur Höhe der Ausgaben skaliert (was natürlich nicht immer der Fall ist), steigern sie das Wachstum proportional zum Umsatz.

In einem Abo-Unternehmen ist dies auch proportional zur Kundenanzahl. So ist es möglich, das Wachstum im Verhältnis zur Kundenanzahl schlicht und ergreifend durch Vertrieb und Marketing zu beschleunigen.

Diese Etappe ist natürlich kein virales Wachstum im eigentlichen Marketing-Sinne des Wortes, aber sie erfüllt die strenge mathematische Definition, bei der Kundenwachstum proportional zur Kundenanzahl ist.

Etappe zwei – Kundenfürsprache

Wenn Sie erfolgreich den Buschfunk nutzen und Ihre Kunden dazu bringen, den Kauf Ihrer Produkte neuen potenziellen Kunden zu empfehlen, haben Sie die zweite Etappe erreicht.

Subscribers hold great potential to be advocates, because they confirm their commitment day after day as they continue to use your product and month after month as they send in their renewal payments. Joel York, Founder, Markodojo

Die Steigerung von viralem Wachstum durch Kundeneinbindung, die aus Kunden Fürsprecher – und aus Fürsprechern Prediger – macht, sollte ganz oben auf jedem Abo-Marketing-Plan stehen.

Etappe drei – Begeisterung im Ökosystem

Das Ökosystem für Ihr Produkt erstreckt sich über Ihren Kundenstamm hinaus und umfasst alle potenziell interessierten Parteien. Denken Sie nur an die Presse, Analysten, Blogger, Social Media-Experten, Partner, Händler, Investoren, Mitarbeiter und vielleicht sogar die Öffentlichkeit.

Die meisten Unternehmen kümmern sich um Public Relations und suchen nach Malcolm Gladwells sogenannten Experten und Verbindungsknüpfern in der Hoffnung, dass diese ihren jeweiligen Zielgruppen und Netzwerken davon erzählen.
Aber bedenken Sie: Ihr Erfolg in der dritten Etappe des viralen Wachstums hängt davon ab, wie gut Sie Etappe zwei gemeistert haben. Eine wahre und langanhaltende Begeisterung im Ökosystem baut unweigerlich auf ein starkes Fundament der Kundenfürsprache auf.

PRIORISIERUNG IHRER WACHSTUMSSTRATEGIEN

Anders als Transaktionskunden schlüpfen Abonnenten durch viele wiederholte Käufe in ihre Beziehungen zu Händlern. Jeder neue Abonnent bringt einen neuen Faden mit wiederkehrendem Umsatz, der in den großen Kundengobelin eingewoben wird, um den Gesamtstrom mit wiederkehrendem Umsatz für den Händler zu erzeugen.

Der Aufbau eines abo-basierten Unternehmens ist sehr investitionsintensiv. Sie müssen nicht nur vorab in Ihr Produkt investieren, sondern auch in Ihre Kunden. Bei den meisten Abo-Unternehmen übersteigt die Investition in Kundenakquise die F&E-Kosten für Produkte bei Weitem.

Wenn Sie in Ihr Produkt investieren, müssen Sie Kompromisse eingehen. Denken Sie an Qualität vs. Quantität, neue Produkte vs. neue Funktionen, Zeit zur Markteinführung und so weiter. Bei Abos gelten dieselben Kompromisse für die Investition in Kunden. Sollten Sie in Quantität (mehr Akquise) oder Qualität (niedrigere Abwanderung) investieren? Neukunden (Akquise) oder größere Kunden (Upselling)? Wachstum oder Cashflow?

Denken Sie daran, dass Ihr wiederkehrender Umsatz in einem bestimmten Zeitraum nicht mehr ist als die Summe seiner Teile. Je eher Sie also die Kostendeckung beim einzelnen Kunden erreichen, desto eher werden Sie als Unternehmen profitabel. Wofür Sie sich entscheiden hängt von Ihrem Markt, Produkt, Abo-Vertriebsmodell und Ihren Finanzzielen ab. Hoffentlich helfen Ihnen diese Tipps dabei, die bestmöglichen Entscheidungen für Ihr Abo-Unternehmen zu treffen.

Learn from your peers. Network your heart out.

Join a Subscribed event near you.

View Events

How To Fight Churn

Written by:

This is a basic introduction to the relationship between churn and growth in subscription-based businesses — a relationship which is not as simple as you might think.

Let’s start with the definition of churn. At its most basic level, churn refers to the proportion of your total subscribers who leave during a given time period.

Churn can result from any number of reasons: weak customer service, a poorly upgraded product, a better offer from the competition, etc.

Regardless, subscription-based businesses are recurring revenue businesses. In order for revenue to recur, your customers must renew at a rate that outpaces churn.

In the end, your churn will determine just how big your business can be. And, if your customers churn too fast, you don’t really have a business at all.

Therefore, reducing churn by investing in high-quality products, sticky features, and customer success is fundamental to every subscription-based business strategy.

THE CHURN/GROWTH RATIO CONUNDRUM

Consider a subscription-based company that acquires new customers at a constant acquisition rate and also has a steady percentage churn rate. Let’s say it gains 100 new customers per year, while losing 10% of them annually. In the early days, absolute churn is not a big deal. Your customer pool slowly rises.

But as the customer base grows, the absolute value of churn increases and soon overwhelms new customer acquisition. Joel York, Founder, Markodojo

In our example, when you reach 1000 customers, your churn rate and acquisition rate both equal 100.

When new customer acquisition equals churn, then the number of customers coming in the door is exactly equal to the number leaving! You can’t grow your customer pool. Not good.

Know Subscription Finance?

Understand the critical differences in the subscription model and build out operational strategies for success.

Get the kit!

BREAKING FREE OF THE CHURN LIMIT

If you want to break free of the churn limit, then you must increase new customer acquisition to compensate. Unfortunately, this places you neatly between a rock and a hard place with respect to profitability.

On the one hand, your customer acquisition costs increase each year, while on the other hand, churn is eating away at your ability to break even on every new customer you bring the door.

And, if either your percentage churn rate or growth rate is too high your businesswill never reach profitability.

How do you know if your churn rate or growth rate is too high?

It all depends on your customer acquisition cost and their recurring contribution.

In a subscription business, you reach profitability when the contribution from current customers covers the acquisition cost of new customers. In  the most basic scenario, customer break-even equals company time to profit.

But, if you lose customers to churn on the revenue side while acquiring new customers at a faster rate on the cost side, then it takes more current customers to cover each new customer.

Confused yet? Here’s the takeaway: the faster you grow, the longer it takes to stack up enough customers to cover your new ones. If you grow too fast, you can never catch up, and you’ll never be profitable…unless you stop growing!

WHEN GROWTH IS THE CULPRIT

Successful subscription companies must drive new customer acquisition at a consistent percentage growth rate from year to year. New customer acquisition costs are paid with the recurring contribution of current customers.

If a subscription company grows rapidly, growing acquisition costs can outpace the build-up of recurring contribution, making profitability impossible.

This creates pressure to reduce total cost of service by lowering either the average customer acquisition cost, or the recurring cost of service (or both).

Because growth is the culprit, the surest and most effective defense is to fight fire with fire. Joel York, Founder, Markodojo

Take advantage of automation and the accompanying economies of scale to reduce total cost of service.

Similar to growth, churn also generates pressure to reduce total cost of service. After all, the recurring contributions of current customers must cover the cost of acquiring new ones.While growth drives up total acquisition cost, churn erodes the revenue base available to cover it, pushing time to profit out even further.

The harsh judgment of this objective metric math seems pretty clear all around. If you want your subscription company to ever be profitable, then lower your total cost of service already!

Happy relationships.

Relationship Business Management. Your ticket to happy customer relationships.

Learn more!

UPSELLING AND UPGRADES

Only foolhardy subscription companies believe that they can grow their way to profitability. It is the recurring revenue mirage that can never be reached, because profitability will only be achieved as growth slows or stops entirely.

The combination of growth and profitability requires an extreme discipline of lowering total cost of service through economies of scale.

What exactly does it mean to increase average recurring revenue without increasing average customer acquisition cost or average recurring cost of service?

First, no additional customer acquisition cost means increasing recurring revenue from current customers.

Second, no increase in average recurring cost of service means that we must do so in the normal course of business with very little extra effort, preferably through customer self-service (self-selling!).

In other words, subscription companies can accelerate time to profit by upselling and upgrading current customers, but only if they follow an exceptionally low-cost purchase process distinct from the new customer acquisition process.

NEW CUSTOMER ACQUISITION STRATEGIES

The bad news is that if you want to grow your company without limits, you can’t just sit back and book a hundred new customers per year and expect recurring revenue to accumulate. Sooner or later, churn catches up with you. You must not only acquire new customers, but you must acquire them at an increasing rate that outpaces your increasing churn.

And the good news? Well, the lower your percentage churn rate, the longer you have to figure it out.

But the unfortunate reality is that churn relentlessly chases the new customer acquisition rate. Therefore, if customer acquisition growth doesn’t outpace churn, overall growth will slow and eventually stop.

Because churn increases in direct proportion to the number of customers, the surest approach is to drive growth at an even higher rate that also increases in proportion to the number of customers. This is the actual definition of the much abused adjective “viral.”

Moreover, investors generally expect companies to increase revenue on a percentage basis year over year. Holding products and prices constant, this again requires viral growth of your customer base. Viral growth can come from many sources, but we can classify it into the following three distinct stages.

3 STAGES OF CUSTOMER GROWTH

 Stage One — Brute Force Sales and Marketing

In any given industry,most companies will spend a rather fixed percentage of revenue on sales and marketing, regardless of the size of the company. When the effectiveness of these efforts scales in proportion to the level of spending (which is clearly not always the case), they will drive growth at a rate proportionate to revenue.

In a subscription business, this will also be proportionate to the number of customers. Hence, it is possible to drive growth in proportion to the number of customers simply through nuts and bolts sales and marketing.

This stage is arguably not viral growth in the usual marketing sense of the words, but it does meet the strict mathematical definition, where customer growth is proportionate to the number of customers.

Stage Two – Customer Advocacy

When you are successful at driving word-of-mouth and getting your customers to recommend purchasing your product to new prospects, you have reached the next stage.

Subscribers hold great potential to be advocates, because they confirm their commitment day after day as they continue to use your product and month after month as they send in their renewal payments. Joel York, Founder, Markodojo

Driving viral growth through active customer engagement that turns customers into advocates – and advocates into evangelists – should be high on the agenda of every subscription marketing plan.

Stage Three – Ecosystem Buzz

The ecosystem for your product extends beyond your customer base to include all potentially interested parties. Consider the press, analysts, bloggers, social media hounds, partners, vendors, investors, employees, and perhaps even the general public.

Most companies engage in public relations, tracking down and pitching Malcolm Gladwell’s mavens and connectors in the hopes that they will pass the word on to their respective audiences and networks.
But remember: your success in the third stage of viral growth depends on how well you nailed stage two. True and lasting ecosystem buzz is invariably built upon a strong foundation of customer advocacy.

Are you ready for your subscriber?

Tools to help you acquire subscribers and build lasting relationships.

Get the kit!

PRIORITIZING YOUR GROWTH STRATEGIES

Unlike transactional customers, subscribers ease into their relationships with vendors through many repeat purchases. Each new subscriber brings a new thread of recurring revenue, which is woven into the larger tapestry of customers to create the vendor’s total recurring revenue stream.

Growing a subscription-based business is investment intensive. Not only must you invest up-front in your product, but you must also invest up-front in your customers. For most subscription businesses, the investment in customer acquisition far outweighs product R&D.

When you invest in your product, you must make trade-offs. Think about quality vs. quantity, new products vs. new features, time-to-market, and so forth.In subscriptions, these same trade-offs occur for investing in customers. Should you invest in higher quantity (more acquisition) vs. higher quality (lower churn)? New customers (acquisition) vs. bigger customers (upsell)? Growth vs. cash flow?

Remember that your recurring revenue over time is nothing more than the sum of its parts. Therefore, the sooner you break even on a single customer, the sooner you will reach profitability as a company. What you decide will depend on your particular market, product, subscription sales model, and financial objectives. Hopefully these tips will help you make the best possible choices for your particular subscription business.

Learn from your peers. Network your heart out.

Join a Subscribed event near you.

View Events