Now, let’s take a look at the actual mathematical formula that Zuora recommends you use to calculate LTV. Fortunately, for companies running subscription business, the formula only involves simple arithmetic.
The formula is:
Customer Lifetime Value ($) = Current Recurring Revenue ($) x Gross Profit Margin x Account Retention Rate / (1 + Discount Rate – Net MRR Retention)
Let’s imagine you operate a B2C monthly subscription business with the following metrics:
• Monthly Recurring Revenue = $9.99
• Gross Profit Margin = 80%
• Monthly Customer Account Retention Rate = 75%
• Discount Rate = 5%
• Net MRR Retention Rate = 85%
LTV would be calculated as:
Customer Lifetime Value ($) = $9.99 x 0.8 x 0.75 / (1 + 0.05 – 0.85) = $5.99 / 0.2 = $29.97
Over the course of four months (the life expectancy calculated using 1 / Churn Rate or 1/0.25), you can expect $29.97 in profit from the customer.